Renew Auto Insurance
Everything You Need To Know About Schengen Visa Blog Featured Image
Travel Insurance

Everything You Need To Know About Schengen Visa

Everything You Need To Know About Schengen Visa Blog

A Schengen visa may be required if you are visiting multiple countries in Europe. In addition, for citizens of some countries, a Schengen visa is a document they must have to travel within the Schengen area. Read on to learn about the Schengen Area and whether or not you require a Schengen visa.

What Is a Schengen Visa?

Schengen visas are short-term visas that enable people to travel to any member state of the Schengen Area, allowing them to stay for up to 90 days for tourism or business purposes. Schengen visas are the most common visas in Europe. Holders can enter and travel freely within the Schengen zone, leaving it from any Schengen member country. In the Schengen zone, all international borders are open. You must, however, apply for a Schengen Visa if you plan to study, work, or live there for more than 90 days. Otherwise, you will need a national visa for that country.

What Is The Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area was established through the Schengen Agreement, ratified in 1985. It allowed for the abolition of national borders and created a free movement area among the 26 European countries that formed the Schengen Area. Presently, there are 26 countries in the Schengen area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Who Needs a Schengen Visa?

Schengen visa requirements depend more on your home country than your destination. Schengen Area citizens can cross the borders as if they were just one country if they are citizens of a Schengen Area member country. Citizens of the U.S. with a valid passport do not require a visa to visit the Schengen countries for tourism or business, provided you stay no more than 90 days in these countries. The Schengen agreement allows you to enter the Schengen area provided that your stay does not exceed 90 days within six months. If you are a resident of another country, check this list to find out if you need a Schengen visa. You may need an airport transit visa for those wishing to change planes in an airport in a Schengen country.

Your passport on hand must be valid for at least three months beyond your departure date to enter one of the 26 member states of the Schengen Area, even if you do not have a Schengen visa. Most countries assume that visitors will stay for the entire three months they can stay without a visa. Travelers from the Malaysia should:

  • Their passports should still be valid for at least six months each time they travel abroad.
  • Check passports’ expiration dates before traveling to Europe.
  • Carry passports at all times.
  • Have a valid travel insurance coverage
Compare Travel Insurance Online
Have a peace of mind for your next holiday with travel insurance

How Do I Apply For Schengen Visa?

If you want to visit one of the Schengen countries, you must apply for a visa at the embassy or consulate. If staying in more than one Schengen country, visit the country’s consulate you spend the most time in if you see more than one Schengen Country. Furthermore, several Schengen visas can be issued, including the Uniform Schengen Visa, limited territorial validity visas, and national visas. Here’s more information on the Schengen Visa Types.

Have a valid passport, a recent photo, a completed and signed Schengen visa application form, and other documents related to your stay, such as proof of accommodation, to apply for a Schengen visa. Verify that you have all the paperwork and fees for a Schengen visa by contacting the embassy or consulate.

Leave a Reply